The Creative Process of Writing

I’d like to devote some time to the process of writing, or getting in the mood to write. For me, as a beginner, the most difficult thing is actually sitting down to put my ideas onto paper (or computer…). Throughout the day I get struck with a small idea here and there, but when I actually sit down to write it can feel impossible to put everything together. Sometimes you get an idea for a single scene but don’t then know how to create the rest of a story. In terms of inspiration, I think the smallest idea is all you need to spiral off into a vibrant short story or novel. What makes you more productive as a writer, is the way you approach the time you spend writing.

This article has some thoughts from famous writers like Ernest Hemingway and E.B. White on how they regimented their writing time: Famous Writer’s Advice on Writing

Unfortunately, the best response to the question of “How should I structure my writing time?” is: find what works best for you! It feels strange to structure a blog post around something so subjective, but it’s important to see the options. The above link will be helpful, as those are some of the best writers in history. What struck me most was the approach by Haruki Murakami. He wakes up at 4 a.m., writes for five hours and then runs 10 kilometers or swims. He does this during times when he is writing a work. Murakami sees this as a way of conditioning the body; he says it’s like survival training.

As you search for methods of productive writing, don’t be afraid to do something outside your comfort zone. Personally I have always been the type of writer who spontaneously writes for spurts from time to time. Only once I’ve finally started being productive, I feel like I’ve achieved my goal and finish for the day. I stop before I get to my best writing! Though I see myself as a spontaneous human, for me to produce a work of my highest ability, I really need to sit down and focus. Really engulf myself in the work so it takes hold of everything conscious and peripheral. But that is what I need. Maybe other people need some space from their works. Perhaps different times call for different approaches. I guess my parting thought is, don’t be afraid to be diligent and stern in your writing practices. Some of the best writers are saying they treat writing very seriously. That said….here are some more unorthodox methods for getting the juices flowing: Irregular Methods. I would say number nine is the most effective. Truthfully, though they seem odd, these were methods that worked for certain people. If you feel like beating your head against a wall, go for it. If you want to rip up a stack of papers and throw them at your dog, maybe do it as long as your dog isn’t too angry at you. The only way to know if something will work is if you try it. Embrace your brain and find your own creative process.

Leave a comment